Safety and Education
Car accidents kill over 25.000 individuals in Kentucky each year. The state has implemented several types of safe driver initiatives in order to prevent the increase in these numbers. They are all targeted at boosting awareness through training and teaching.
The Graduated Driver Licensing Program
In general, the GDL program’s aim is to educate people and promote public awareness about the effects of car accidents, and crushes. The program is specifically designed to teach teen drivers, as teen-related accidents are on the rise in Kentucky.
As of the latest statistics, only 6% of the drivers are teens, however, they are present in about 18% of accidents.
The GDL, thus, is obligatory for motorists (aged 16 to 17) holding a learner’s permit. Only after successfully completing the training, they will be eligible for an unrestricted license.
All teenagers should have an intermediate license throughout the transitional phase. It allows them to drive on their own, but with two restrictions:
If the police ever catch you violating your rights, your permit would be revoked.
No Pass/No Drive
Starting in 2007 Kentucky has adopted the No Pass/No Drive law that is an obligatory point for each driver between 16 to 17 years old. The law requires to pass at least 4 out of 6 courses and present during at least 66% of classes to be eligible for a permit.
First of all, all the students have to be 16 years old.
Secondly, you have to have no more than 9 unexcused absences.
Finally, you should have completed at least 6 courses.
To submit a request you have to:
Fill out the request completely.
Submit the request at least 24 hours before.
Make sure you have enough time (without weekends and holidays) to have your request proceed.
Before submission, double-check the data and make sure all the info is up-to-date.
After all these steps, the local office will send you a confirmation/denial email. If accepted, you’ll receive the pick-up instra=uctions as well.
Note that the form is due in 60 days. If you haven’t received the notification contact the DMV.
FYI, the record is available in nearly every academy. All other 16 and 17-year-old kids can get the Compliance Verification Form from their home school district. A sixteen or seventeen-year-old who does not produce a compliance verification form will be denied instructional permission or license.
If a student drops or leaves school for whatever reason, the directory must notify the Division of Licensing. In this situation, the Division of Licensing suspends the student's driving permission and notifies the motorist.
All the schools in KY, no matter public or private has to follow NP/ND law. To get a learner’s permit a student has to get a Compliance Verification Form.
Whenever the school notices you have more than 9 absences for no “respectable” reason, it has to notify the DDL.
If the police have suspended the permit the applicant will be eligible for re-application. The students must reach the end of the semester or attend special courses.
What about home-schooled residents, they have to contact the nearest school that is registered by the Board of Education. They do not have to provide an embossed seal on the Compliance Verification Form.